SBM Officers Elected for 2016-2017

Lawrence P. Nolan, of Eaton Rapids, has been elected president of the State Bar of Michigan for the 2016-2017 bar year. He will be sworn in as president of the more than 44,000-member organization on Thursday, Sept. 22, during the SBM Annual Meeting in Grand Rapids.

Also serving as officers for 2016-2017 will be President-Elect Donald G. Rockwell of Flint, Vice President Jennifer M. Grieco of Birmingham, Secretary Dennis M. Barnes of Detroit, and Treasurer Robert J. Buchanan of Grand Rapids.

Lawrence Nolan is the founder and president of Nolan, Thomsen & Villas, PC, and practices personal injury, wrongful death, criminal, probate, domestic relations, estate planning, and real estate law. Donald Rockwell practices with Nill Rockwell, PC, and focuses on business, municipal, personal injury, and intellectual property litigation, as well as alternative dispute resolution. Jennifer M. Grieco practices with Neuman Anderson Grieco McKenney, PC, and concentrates her practice in the area of complex commercial litigation, insurance coverage, and professional malpractice. Dennis M. Barnes is a member with Barris, Sott, Denn & Driker, PLLC, and concentrates his practice on complex business litigation, professional malpractice defense, insurance coverage, and alternative dispute resolution. Robert J. Buchanan is managing partner of Buchanan & Buchanan, PLC, and focuses his practice on negligence law, medical malpractice, automobile accident, wrongful death, catastrophic personal injury law, and civil litigation.

Fred K. Herrmann of Detroit will be the 2016-2017 chair of the Representative Assembly, and Joseph P. McGill of Livonia will be the vice chair. The Representative Assembly will elect a new clerk at its meeting in September.


Lawrence P. Nolan Donald G. Rockwell Jennifer M. Grieco
Dennis M. Barnes Robert J. Buchanan
Fred K. Herrmann Joseph P. McGill

High resolution images of all of SBM's 2016-2017 officers are available by clicking the link under each photo above. Find out more about the SBM Annual Meeting.