SBM Announces 2018 Election Results

SBM Board of Commissioners

Five attorneys—Lisa J. Hamameh, Thomas H. Howlett, Joseph P. McGill, Dana M. Warnez, and Erane C. Washington—won contested seats in this year’s Board of Commissioners elections. All will serve three-year terms expiring at the close of the 2021 NEXT Conference.

Dana M. Warnez was elected to serve District D, representing Macomb and St. Clair Counties. She concentrates on probate and estate planning, drafting and administering trusts, and real estate matters at Schoenherr, Cahill & Warnez in Center Line.

Erane C. Washington was elected to serve District G, representing Jackson and Washtenaw Counties. She owns and operates the Law Firm of Erane C. Washington-Kendrick in Ann Arbor, and provides services to businesses and individuals in real estate, business, personal injury, and commercial litigation.

Joseph P. McGill was elected to serve District H, representing Monroe, Lenawee, and Wayne Counties. He is a principal at Foley, Baron, Metzger & Juip in Livonia, concentrating on complex litigation and transactions.

Lisa J. Hamameh and Thomas H. Howlett were both elected to serve District I, representing Oakland County. Hamameh is a shareholder with Foster Swift Collins & Smith in Southfield and practices municipal, zoning/land use, and liquor licensing law. Howlett is a partner and chief operating officer of the Googasian Law Firm in Bloomfield Hills, where his litigation practice focuses on malpractice, catastrophic injury, wrongful death, and pursuit of consumer class actions.

The SBM Board of Commissioners provides oversight to the State Bar on finance, public policy, professional standards. and member services and communications.

Judicial Tenure Commission

Judge Brian R. Sullivan, of Detroit, won a contested election for a three-year term on the Judicial Tenure Commission that will commence Jan. 1, 2019 and will expire on Dec. 31, 2021. Judge Sullivan was elected to the Wayne County Third Circuit Court in 1998.

The JTC is a constitutionally created body that promotes the integrity of the judicial process and preserves public confidence in the courts.

SBM Representative Assembly

Samantha J. Orvis, of Grand Blanc, won a contested race for a three-year term on the Representative Assembly in Circuit 7, representing Genesee County.

Fifty-eight attorneys won unopposed races in the State Bar Representative Assembly. These new members are:

First Circuit—Hillsdale County
Karlye A. Horton

Second Circuit—Berrien County
Amber D. Peters
Mary Margaret-LaSata Spiegel

Third Circuit—Wayne County
Julia A. Gilbert
Susan L. Haroutunian
Christina B. Hines
Diane Hutcherson
Sean M. Myers
John C. Philo

Fourth Circuit—Jackson County
Terry J. Klaasen

Sixth Circuit—Oakland County
Heather J. Atnip
James P. Brennan
Colleen H. Burke
John Chau
David J. Eagles
J. Scot Garrison
Karen R. Geibel
Dawn M. King
Mathew Kobliska
Brian D. O’Keefe
Ryan A. Paree
Margaret A. Scott
Louis A. Stefanic
Mark L. Teicher

10th Circuit—Saginaw County
Jennifer A. Van Benschoten Jones

11th Circuit—Alger, Luce, Mackinac, and Schoolcraft Counties
Chad W. Peltier

13th Circuit—Antrim, Grand Traverse, and Leelanau Counties
James L. Rossiter

14th Circuit—Muskegon County
Jennifer J. Roach

17th Circuit—Kent County
Michael D. Adams
Nicholas V. Dondzila
Elizabeth J. Fossel
Patrick M. Jaicomo
Joshua Z. Kosmerick
Nicholas M. Ohanesian

20th Circuit—Ottawa County
Christopher M. Wirth

22nd Circuit—Washtenaw County
Mark W. Jane

23rd Circuit—Alcona, Arenac, Iosco, and Oscoda Counties
Duane L. Hadley

25th Circuit—Marquette County
Patrick C. Greeley

29th Circuit—Clinton and Gratiot Counties
Cassandra R. Green

30th Circuit—Ingham County
Yolanda M. Bennett
Nicole A. Evans
Carmen G. Fahie
Christopher L. Jackson
Jessica L. Zimbelman

32nd Circuit—Gogebic and Ontonagon Counties
Anna R. Talaska

33rd Circuit—Charlevoix County
Kevin G. Klevorn

35th Circuit—Shiawassee County
Michael L. Herendeen

36th Circuit—Van Buren County
Adam D. Bancroft

38th Circuit—Monroe County
Anne M. McCarthy
Michael C. Brown

44th Circuit—Livingston County
Dennis L. Perkins

45th Circuit—St. Joseph County
John L. Barnes

48th Circuit—Delta County
Avery D. Rose

50th Circuit—Chippewa County
David E. Bulson

52nd Circuit—Huron County
Dallas Rooney

53rd Circuit—Cheboygan and Presque Isle Counties
Melissa Goodrich

55th Circuit—Clare and Gladwin Counties
Hon. Thomas R. Evans

56th Circuit—Eaton County
Kristen L. Krol

The 150-member Representative Assembly was created in 1972 to increase the proportion of members who actively participate in State Bar policy; it serves as the SBM final policy-making body.

SBM Young Lawyers Section Executive Council

Two attorneys—Choi T. Portis, of Detroit, and Ryan Zemke, of Clinton Township—won uncontested elections in District 1, representing Wayne and Macomb counties, for a two-year term expiring in 2020.

Four attorneys—Angela L. Baldwin, of Rochester, Kristina A. Bilowus, of Royal Oak, Jerome Crawford, of Troy, and Brande N. Smith, of Farmington Hills—won uncontested elections in District 2, representing Oakland County, for two-year terms expiring in 2020.

Three attorneys—Samantha J. Orvis, of Grand Blanc, Erica N. Payne, of Marquette, and Christopher B. Wickman, of Okemos— won contested elections in District 3, representing all Michigan counties except for Wayne, Oakland, and Macomb, for two-year terms expiring in 2020.

The Young Lawyers Executive Council governs the members of the Young Lawyers Section, one of the State Bar's largest sections. The section provides education, information, and analysis about issues of concern through meetings, seminars, public service programs, and newsletters. The section has won numerous awards for its public service and educational programs.