State Bar of Michigan Announces 2017 Election Results

State Bar of Michigan Announces 2017 Election Results


SBM Board of Commissioners

Seven attorneys—David C. Anderson, Bernhardt D. Christenson III, Shauna L. Dunnings, James W. Heath, Hon. David A. Perkins, Daniel D. Quick, and Gregory L. Ulrich—won contested seats in this year’s Board of Commissioners elections. All will serve three-year terms expiring at the close of the 2020 Annual Meeting.

David C. Anderson and Daniel D. Quick were both elected to serve District I, representing Oakland County. Anderson is a shareholder at Collins Einhorn Farrell in Southfield, dedicating his practice primarily to defending Michigan lawyers and law firms against personal liability claims. Quick is a trial lawyer with Dickinson Wright in Troy and national leader of the firm's commercial litigation practice.

Bernhardt D. Christenson III, was elected to serve District B, representing Bay, Genesee, Huron, Lapeer, Midland, Saginaw, Sanilac, and Tuscola Counties. He started his own firm, Christenson & Fiederlein in Flint in 2006.

Shauna L. Dunnings was elected to serve District E, representing Barry, Clinton, Eaton, Gratiot, Ingham, Ionia, Livingston, Montcalm, and Shiawasee Counties. She currently serves as administrator for the 30th Judicial Circuit Court in Lansing.

James W. Heath, Hon. David A. Perkins, and Gregory L. Ulrich were elected to serve District H, representing Monroe, Lenawee, and Wayne Counties. Heath currently serves as the City of Detroit’s first inspector general, and in that role is responsible for rooting out waste, abuse, fraud, and corruption in city government. Judge Perkins serves on the 36th District Court in Detroit. Ulrich runs a law practice in Grosse Pointe Woods with a focus on business law, real estate law, finance, technology, and litigation.

The SBM Board of Commissioners provides oversight to the State Bar on finance, public policy, professional standards, and member services and communications.


Judicial Tenure Commission

James W. Burdick, of Bloomfield Hills, won a contested election for a three-year term on the Judicial Tenure Commission that will commence Jan. 1, 2018, and will expire on Dec. 31, 2020.

The JTC is a constitutionally created body that promotes the integrity of the judicial process and preserves public confidence in the courts.


SBM Representative Assembly

Forty-seven attorneys won unopposed races in the State Bar Representative Assembly. These new members are:

First Circuit—Hillsdale County
Karlye A. Horton

Third Circuit—Wayne County
Stephen M. Taratuta
Mark M. Koroi
Thomas M.J. Lavigne
Daniel D. McLean
Aaron V. Burrell
Elizabeth A. Young

Fourth Circuit—Jackson County
Terry J. Klaasen

Sixth Circuit—Oakland County
Sheldon G. Larky
Dawn M. King
John Chau
Victoria B. King
Matthew M. Aneese
Patrick D. Crandell
Chelsea M. Rebeck
Matthew J. Turchyn
David J. Eagles
Marco M. Bisbikis
Aristidi D. Papaioannou
Jennifer R. Turchyn

Seventh Circuit—Genesee County
Jill L. Nylander

Eighth Circuit—Ionia & Montcalm Counties
Ryan Cade C. Villet

Ninth Circuit—Kalamazoo County
Alan B. Koenig

10th Circuit—Saginaw County
Randy L. Price

13th Circuit—Antrim, Grand Traverse & Leelanau Counties
John R. Blakeslee

16th Circuit—Macomb County
R. Timothy Kohler

17th Circuit—Kent County
Martin J. Hillard
Joshua Z. Kosmerick

18th Circuit—Bay County
Jessie S. Wood
Marcus R. Garske

20th Circuit—Ottawa County
Ronald L. Foster

21st Circuit—Isabella County
Robert M. Backus

22nd Circuit—Washtenaw County
John W. Reiser III
Elizabeth Kitchen-Troop
Jonathan D. Goslow

26th Circuit—Alpena & Montmorency Counties
Daniel J. Florip

27th Circuit—Newaygo & Oceana Counties
Ellsworth J. Stay Jr.

30th Circuit—Ingham County
Darling A. Garcia

31st Circuit—St. Clair County
Hilary B. Georgia

35th Circuit—Shiawassee County
Michael L. Herendeen

37th Circuit—Calhoun County
James L. Jordan

43rd Circuit—Cass County
Kelley James-Jura

47th Circuit—Delta County
Ian R. Rothe

49th Circuit—Mecosta & Osceola Counties
Erin M. Carrier Barnhart

51st Circuit—Lake & Mason Counties
Kathryn E. Glancy

54th Circuit–Tuscola County
Gregory H. Bringard

55th Circuit–Clare & Gladwin Counties
Hon. Thomas R. Evans

The 150-member Representative Assembly was created in 1972 to increase the proportion of members who actively participate in State Bar policy; it serves as the SBM final policy-making body.


SBM Young Lawyers Section Executive Council

Three attorneys—Elisha M. Oakes, of St. Clair Shores; Colemon L. Potts, of Detroit; and Aaron P. Sohaski, of Detroit—won uncontested elections in District 1, representing Wayne and Macomb counties, for a two-year term expiring in 2019.

Three attorneys—Matthew P. Breuer, of Royal Oak; Silvia A. Mansoor, of Troy; and Aristidi D. Papaioannou, of Farmington—won uncontested elections in District 2, representing Oakland County, for two-year terms expiring in 2019.

Four attorneys—Kara R. Hart-Negrich, of Lansing; Amy S. Krieg, of East Lansing; Laura M. Kubit, of Caro; and Bobby A. Ficklin Jr., of Lansing—won contested elections in District Three, representing all Michigan counties except for Wayne, Oakland, and Macomb, for two-year terms expiring in 2019.

The Young Lawyers Executive Council governs the members of the Young Lawyers Section, one of the State Bar's largest sections. The section provides education, information, and analysis about issues of concern through meetings, seminars, public service programs, and newsletters. The section has won numerous awards for its public service and educational programs.