John W. Reed Michigan Lawyer Legacy Award

The John W. Reed Michigan Lawyer Legacy Award named after a professor who over the course of his decades-long career at the University of Michigan Law School earned a reputation as a pre-eminent scholar, teacher and gentleman. Professor Reed also served as Dean of both the University of Colorado Law School and Wayne State Law School. This award in his name is presented periodically to an educator from a Michigan law school whose influence on lawyers has elevated the quality of legal practice in our state.

Application Form: Apply online or complete the Word document

Previous Winners

2023 Vivek Sankaran
2022 Professor Peter J. Henning (posthumously)
2021 No award
2020 Professor Paul D. Reingold
2019 Professor Lawrence C. Mann & Professor Suellyn Scarnecchia
2018 Professor Lawrence Dubin
2017 Professor Alan S. Schenk
2016 George T. Roumell Jr.
2015 Joseph Kimble
2014 No award
2013 James J. White
2012 Robert A. Sedler
2011 Harold P. Norris