Inaugural & Awards Luncheon 2023 banner

Join us as

President James W. Heath

passes the gavel to

Daniel D. Quick,

the 89th president of the State Bar of Michigan;

welcomes the incoming leadership of the Board of Commissioners;
and honors the distinguished service and commitment
by members of Michigan's legal community

Noon Thursday, September 21, 2023
at the Detroit Marriott Troy,
200 W. Big Beaver Road
Troy, Michigan

Board of Commissioners - 2023 - 2024 Officers banner

Hotel Information: Reservations can be made online at the Troy Marriott or by calling (800) 228-9290 and identifying yourself as being with the State Bar of Michigan. Reservations must be made by August 30 to receive the group rate of $179 plus tax.


Purchase Tickets button


Roberts P. Hudson Award: Nancy Diehl, Joseph Kimble, and John M. Sier

The State Bar of Michigan's highest honor, presented periodically to commend one or more lawyers for their unselfish rendering of outstanding and unique service to and on behalf of the State Bar of Michigan, the legal profession, and public.

Frank J. Kelley Distinguished Public Service Award: Hon. Timothy Kenny

Recognizes extraordinary governmental service by a member of the State Bar of Michigan.

Champion of Justice Award: Veronica Thronson

Given to practicing lawyers and judges of integrity and adherence to the highest principles and traditions of the legal profession, superior professional competence, and an extraordinary professional accomplishment that benefits the nation, the state, or the local community in which the lawyer or judge lives.

John W. Reed Lawyer Legacy Award: Vivek Sankaran

Given periodically to an educator from a Michigan law school whose influence on lawyers has elevated the quality of legal practice in our state.

John W. Cummiskey Pro Bono Award: James R. Rinck

Recognizes a Michigan lawyer who has made a significant pro bono contribution.

Liberty Bell Award: Amy Iseler

Given by local bar associations in conjunction with Law Day to honor outstanding citizens within the local community. The SBM Awards Committee selects the statewide Liberty Bell Award winner from local bar winners submitted to the State Bar.

For additional information, please contact Amy Castner at, Talise Wesley at, or call (888) 726-3678.